[Skip to content]

Your Borough Of Poole
.

What to read next

Libraries - What to read next - Image

Are you stuck in a rut with your reading?  Are you keen to discover new authors and titles?  Try some of these ideas...

Did you know we support 60 reading groups across Poole? Some of them have shared their favourite reads with us - download their Curated Collection from the list on the right and be inspired!


The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.


The 2016 winners are:

Costa First Novel Award: Golden Hill by Frances Spufford

Costa Novel Award: Days without End by Sebastian Barry

Costa Biography Award: Dadland: a journey into uncharted territory by Keggie Carew

Costa Poetry Award: Falling Awake by Alice Oswald

Costa Children's Book Award: The Bombs that Brought us Together by Brian Conaghan

Read more information about the books, then reserve them through the library catalogue

See if you can choose the Book of the Year at one of our special book group events. Join us at Creekmoor Library on Wednesday 18 January, 10.30am - 12 noon, or Oakdale Library on Friday 20 January, 10.30 - 11.30am, to read the category winners and choose the Book of the Year.


 

There are lots of book-related sites, and here is a selection of our favourites:

Who Else Writes Like?  Find out who else writes like your favourite author. You will need your library card number to get into the site.

Whichbook can help find a book to suit your mood.

Fantastic Fiction What else has your favourite author written?  What’s next in the series?  Information on more than 2500 titles.

Lovereading helps you make up your mind what to read next. Find out about authors similar to others you like, read first chapters of a selection of novels, and sign up for a newsletter to keep you up to date.

When you’ve discovered the book you’d love to read next, look on the catalogue and reserve it online from the comfort of your own home. Or pop along to your local library and ask the staff to request it for you. There may be a charge for this service.

 
Line Break - 300x10px Orange

Reading